INFP Shadow Functions

2 Apr


The shadow functions of an infp are extraverted feeling (Fe), introverted intuition (Ni), extraverted sensing (Se) and introverted thinking (Ti).

I did a cognitive process test that seemed to identify my usage of processes as Fi, Ne, Si, Ti, Ni, Fe, Te, Se. Between Ni, Te, Ti, Fe there isn’t much serious difference in usage and preference. Surprisingly I use Ti (a shadow function) to a good extent. I do need some serious work on expressing myself a little more though- My Te, Fe, Se are so quiet.

Have you ever come across a type of your shadow processes..? For an INFP, that would be an xSTP. I have found xSTPs to be deeply perplexing people- partially I have not understood any of their motivations.

While an INFP can grow into their tertiary (Si) and inferior (Te) functions from their 20s; and even understand and have empathy towards an ESTJ (Te, Si, Ne, Fi) who shares the same functions as us (albeit in a reversed way) ; it is a harder task to understand the ESTP (Se, Ti, Fe, Ni).

Empathy doesn’t even come into the picture. When I read the STP forum, I just feel so deeply confused. Mentally, I can’t tell how they arrive at their conclusions, though their thoughts can be quite interesting and wacky. And they are very fast at picking up things, perhaps due to (Ti) and (Se) working in tandem- body language and interior logic – to gauge the situation. This is rather admirable.

However, the combination of Se-Fe usually sets my teeth on edge. Sometimes it is like every thought: bad, evil or funny needs to be broadcast loudly. I think ESTPs make great salesmen or mavericks- just that being an introvert, I don’t particularly like salesmen. ;)

Seems I still have a long way to go in understanding or even liking the shadow functions..

4 Responses to “INFP Shadow Functions”

  1. sarabandt June 7, 2014 at 4:00 am #

    Hey, interesting post. I was curious what test you took that told you about your usage cognitive usage pattern? I’ve been for something similar myself. thanks!

  2. Minh December 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    This is right. I actually do not dislike ESTJs that much, considering the fact that they share the same function as INFP. Provided an ESTJ is considerate and tolerant towards my feelings, I can team with him/her. Then as you say the most confusing type to me is ESTP. I cannot understand their love for physical sensation, nor can I understand their thinking with little effort. Regarding shadow functions, if hooked on them, INFPs can act like an ENTJ, which is horrible if looking back later. It is interesting to understand the “other” dimension of us or any other types.

    • Minh December 22, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

      Sorry like ENFJs

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Which do you use most: Instinct, Insight or Thinking « Surviving INFP - July 9, 2011

    [...] make a guess to say an Infp’s Instinct is Fi based. Insight would be more like Ni (INFPs can have Ni & Ti), and Thinking would be more Te (extroverted [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

