The procrastination in my job search

18 Jun

The job search is not going along well. The more advice I take from people, the more choices appear. arggghh. I wonder if you all understand this frustration. Human resource was one of my choices before, but I spoke to a consultant today and she mentioned HR lifespan is up to their 40s. Which means I would only have 10 yrs of good work after getting a degree. argh.

I did a DISC test today, and it rated me as High Compliance and High Steadiness. Kinda means I can’t make decisions without having a ton of information sitting on the desk and my dumb persistence at work regulations and rules makes me a donkey for hard work. Also it says I am a ‘perfectionist’ pattern at work, and ‘prefers to work in a structured environment possibly as a team of experts, craftsmen or professionals. She will seek the opportunity to work alone and also to extend knowledge in order to gain expertise or specialization’. I should be a accountant, engineer or IT according to profile. Kinda of makes me sound like an INTP too.. something I have been pondering about. ‘INTP’ or ‘INFP’? that makes for another post…hmm

looking back at the jobs i considered:
1)events management- needs a high ‘D’ and ‘I’
2)film/tv production- could fit in the technical aspects: lighting grip? editor?
3)human resource- needs a ‘I’ somewhere
4)arts related sales job- needs a ‘I’ somewhere
5)theatre openings- could fit in technical roles, backstage crew
6)governmental admin job- could fit in
7)photographer assistant- could fit in

This is driving me mad. Tech jobs fit me, but the money isn’t going to make me content. Still, makes me wonder non-stop if I should be a techie type. A friend suggested I do writing(tech or something). I know next to nothing about the field.

14 Responses to “The procrastination in my job search”

  1. My site April 12, 2014 at 4:59 am #

    Hello colleagues, fastidious article and fastidious arguments commented here, I am really enjoying by these.

  2. kdp March 16, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    to the op – ellzrae

    do what you love doing and work no longer becomes work. Money will come simply for 2 BIG reasons 1/ you will not mind putting in long hours doing something you love 2/ your skills and expertise should be much greater than bearing out ajob just for the money. You can mix it to a degree, but working solely for money is the quickest way to the dullest life on earth at best or burn-out at worst

    • ellzrae July 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      thanks kdp, I keep that in mind not to ever arrive in such a stage of work. :)

      regards,
      ellzrae

  3. Stu April 13, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    Oh my – I ve fumbled around the internet buying career guides, looking at companies to chat too gettin greally
    angry inside that nobody understands me – And in pops Mr INFP with the best all rounded advise and trait
    analysis i ve seen – Im border line INFP/INTP…

    Jason top dude…..basically i need to grow some and get on with it….

  4. King April 4, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    How would you like to be remembered?

  5. kemal February 9, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I Guy who gave the second reply is amazing advise. He was directly speaking to me personally. I am having the problem of decision making as INFP and it took me years to decide which career I have to do. Every time I come with test results I am not satsfied. I know now it is a self-deception and this friend mentiones. I thing I have to impliment his advise just to try and expereince the job and then by practice I will now the type of career I love and get energized. Thank you again for the wonderful comment.

  6. Chris February 3, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Thanks for this posting they still call me Jason. It’s really a breath of fresh air for me. I’m in my last semester of my undergrad in Writing (English dept.) and have been bogging down my mind with the creation of career options to the point where I am neglecting my studies: The main reason I have the options I’ve been exploring in the first place!

    I have had only a superficial understanding of the INFP personality stature up to this point, primarily taking delight in the release of understanding how my personality sets me apart from many of my peers. I suppose it stands to reason that, being a very strong “I,” I would appreciate the depth of this insight as much as I do.

    Where did you get this information from? This is excellent career advice for an INFP. Thanks again for posting it.

  7. ellzrae July 12, 2008 at 10:15 am #

    wowowwo. gotto love your reply. i laughed so many times reading your analysis. (too familiar).

    I must say although i can use my intuition in understanding situations and weird behavior in others, my intuition fails me completely in practical stuff like career planning (or making money for that fact. )

    You are right about experience as the most functional route. You hear it all the time from the sensor types. They look at you quizzically when you ask them how they arrived at the decision. They just understand they have to get down and do it.

    You got it down pat, i say! Are u a scholar of infps? :) I think as an infp, my career dilemmas often centre around questions like: “am i taking advantage of this person (pay-wise) on behalf of my company “, “did i fulfill my side of the bargain”, “I don’t want to make the person do anything they are uncomfortable with “, or “can’t my company pay them earlier? I feel bad.”

    Although I hardly ever express these thoughts to my superiors (they would think i’m not focusing on the imp stuff like bottomline, timeline blah blah blah)- if I can’t do the right thing, I feel nasty.

    Must say your advice relates to what I have been doing recently- will update on that soon…

  8. they still call me jason July 5, 2008 at 2:16 am #

    Sounds like you’re “in the grip of your tertiary” — which for us INFPs, is Introverted Sensing (same as it is for INTPs).

    Basically, when this happens, we’re compulsively searching for information that will, eventually, create a kind of abstract internal map that will allow us to proceed successfully. Basically, we want this map in place because we’re afraid — no, make that terrified — of making mistakes.

    So to get this information, we read a lot, ask a lot of questions, get interested in various fields and then start to realize the 2 or 3 million reasons why we can’t succeed in them (no network, no experience, no technical training, no [fill in the blank]).

    Many INFPs and INTPs get stuck in this pattern and underachieve, in terms of career. We’re like cliff divers waiting for the ‘right wind’ to come along before we’ll dive.

    That wind never comes.

    This is because the very map that we want to rely on cannot be designed on an intellectual level; it is experiential. In other words: we can only figure out what the hell we want from our career, what we’re good at and what nourishes us (and what doesn’t) by direct experience.

    Naturally, exposing ourselves to direct experience is a risk. We can fail. We can be attacked for being many things we aren’t; many a few that we are. INFPs can be attacked for not being as caring as they want to see themselves as being. INTPs can be attacked for being incompetent or, even worse, illogical. Even if such attacks aren’t justified in whole or part, they still cause wounds.

    However, in my experience as a recovering INFP, going out there and getting the shit knocked out of you — or not — is the ONLY way to actually build that ‘map’ which will ultimately guide a career path.

    So here’s the advice.

    If you’re in the grip of your tertiary function (Introverted Sensing/Si), you’re going to compulsively try and find more information and more information and more information about possible careers. This will “seem” like career planning to you — it will “seem” like you’re being realistic and trying to really make a clear choice — but it is a self-deception, designed to keep you stuck and always in “information-gathering” mode and away from action-mode.

    For INFPs and INTPs, taking action is *hard* because it’s a constant test. Reality is challenging for INFPs and INTPs. In fact, I’d say reality is harder for these two types than any other, because, well, if you ARE an INFP worthy of all of the great things people write about INFPs, then reality will test this. It will present you with 1000 challenges a day (maybe less…) that will make you see just how ethical you are, how caring you are, how nice you are. And for INTPs, it’s a slightly different perspective — they will get many challenges to their competence, to their linear, logical approach.

    It’s very easy for INFPs to “care about all living things” in the comfort of their own rooms, just as it is for INTPs to feel like geniuses while in a library. The real test, however, is in that…thing…called Reality where nothing makes a lot of sense and some people are flat out nuts. (Some aren’t though.)

    So, again, here’s the advice: get out there. Roll up your sleeves. Only through experience — I don’t mean the kind that shows up on a resume, but I mean the kind that speaks to you direcrtly, internally — will you develop the skills you want AND will you identify what it is that energizes you, and what doesn’t. Until you get into the trenches, take some hits — but also experience some interesting surprises — you’ll never know “what to do.”

    Good luck!

    • Niki June 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm #

      Hi Jason,
      I am an INFP 28-yr old guy from Indonesia,
      and I just want to tell you that I literally nod yes several times, and a bit shuddering, because of how ‘eerily’ yet also amazingly TRUE all the things that you mentioned above! enough said.
      and I also really like your advices at the end, I think it’s very true what you said..that I just need to stop “living in my head”, and just try to get ‘hit’ in the real world; although I’m sure it would be really hard initially, but I’m sure it’ll get easier, and like you said, if we keep BEING who we are and keep CONNECTING with people, Life would sometimes (or even often, for ‘instrospective’ people like us! :)) bring lots of pleasant SURPRISES into our life! :)

      It is ‘fun’ sometimes to dream beautiful things in our head,..but I’m sure if we ACT in REAL life, it would be much more heartfelt, fun, and felt REAL, worth to try isn’t it? :)

      • ellzrae June 24, 2010 at 8:00 am #

        Hi Niki,

        (think I recognise ur name from the forums..:)Jason doesn’t pop by these days, so i’m not sure if he will get your message.

        Still, 2 years on from the time I wrote this post, what Jason has said has still somewhat resonated with me. Through working, I identified the things I wanted in a job. I’m not so anxious whether the job fits my passion cause I have made a decision to let what i like be my hobby. I decided to put more effort into my hobby on weekends. I learned to develop a bit of Ni in trying to recognise which jobs and environments could be a good fit for me.. & avoid those that aren’t. I stopped worrying about minor things or Fi type of values, as long I had an outlet for my Fi: like showing concern for my workmates. I try to put more effort into playing with Ne and Fe, cause in a non-creative line that I am in now, there’s not so much chances to do that…

        Do I think INFPs still can dream? Yes, if they can compromise and direct their dreams into a thing they care about. Work is part of life, life is not work. :)

    • INTP March 15, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      Wow! I think that comment may be the most helpful and insightful thing this career-hunting INTP has ever read.

      Thanks.

      • ellzrae April 2, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

        Thanks INTP!

    • kdp March 16, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      good post – infps are prone to too much mental mastrubation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

